Sydney: My First Taste of Australia

17629707_10210628940494018_7876259347084937897_n
Sydney Opera House

It started with a wild idea. Some of my colleagues have encouraged me to make use of my Australian visa and take the opportunity to travel to the land down under. Of course I was a little hesitant. I am well aware of the potential expense that I will incur and perhaps it would be around the range of my 3 years of savings before I started with my current job. I guess I am just lucky to have been granted with a month of tourist visa to Australia last year. It was nearing expiration when I felt the itch and desire to probably use it this time more like a journey of many firsts for myself.

Like any other solo traveller, I started to flirt with the idea and made my own research. Airfare was a secondary issue next to accomodation, since budget airfares are already available going to Sydney. Without a doubt in my mind, Sydney would have to be my first taste of Australia. I know there are many places and things to see in Australia, but I think if I were to do an opening act it would have to start with the city that probably would cross my mind in an instant so that’s Sydney. So I did research on accomodation, until I posted in facebook about ‘things to do in Sydney’ and my childhood neighbourhood ‘ate’ and relative commented and sent me a message. Right away we jumped in to the conclusion that I should make it happen before the month would end and thank God she offered me to stay in their home. So right away I filed for leave then prayed for divine intervention that it would be granted ASAP.  True enough after more than a week of waiting, I was told I can take a leave and fly to Australia! I scouted for cheap airfare on my own, tried to make my itinerary and then in less than a month I was finally set and ready to go!

By the time everything was set, planned and almost ready for full execution, I started to feel a little nervous about the whole trip. People would probably agree that I’ll be the last person to take a dare and take a risk, so It was a bit of a challenge. This trip would be my first trip solo outside of the country. I think it would be totally ok to go full asian invasion and travel solo but to go to a different continent ALONE was another story. I know most people would probably just say, just another first timer full of anxiety or excitement but a part of the reason why I was pushed to take on this adventure was my newly resurrected hobby which is blogging. I’m really the type who would probably make a grand story about everything I would go through and each step of the way I’d be thankful and add a bit of drama to every miracle and blessing I receive- why not?!

17622020_10210637373904848_6219194526439773132_o
The Rocks

So I took an evening flight to Manila from Cebu, then for about 3 hours of waiting I was aboard in the plane that would take  me to Sydney. I must say I tried to control over my nerves and I was really counting each minute in my 9-hour travel to a foreign soil. I’m not a fan of flying so to go through 9 hours of it was a proud moment. At around 10:30am-11:00am Sydney time, our plane finally landed at Sydney (Kingsford Smith) International Airport. I went through the immigration without any hassle and with a warm welcoming smile the immigration officer blurted out with a smile, ‘Welcome to Australia, mate!’  Just like that my newly turned itchy feet is walking in the very soil of the luckiest country in the world! I must say that like Australia, I was lucky enough to went through smoothly the necessary processes while travelling, and most of all I was right on schedule.

17492357_10210635899827997_6665398062526966977_o
Customs House Library

Immediately after arrival, we immediately went straight to Circular Quay to tick off the most important item in my bucket list- a picture of me with Sydney Opera House as my background. Because we got hungry, we ate lunch at Opera Bar with a perfect view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. I was feeling a bit Aussie so I ordered Fish & Chips. Thanks to my Ate for the welcome lunch and dessert at Guylian Belgian Chocolate Cafe (I should do a separate blog about food).

IMG_2538
Fish & Chips
IMG_2549
Sydney Opera House
17630097_10210630986505167_8880990518939471238_n
Mixed Berry Tart

Right after the food fest, went around Circular Quay the to the Rocks and just smelled the fresh Australian air. Along the way I was amazed by the joggers. I was lucky enough to have witnessed the knock off hour for most locals and immigrants from their work and really there was literally a stampede of the most good looking people in the universe.

17626444_10210631831326287_171915220684056579_n

I was not about to just went home early, we walked around the entire CBD. Took pictures at Hyde Park, The Rocks, and St. Mary’s Cathedral.

17632337_10210635881507539_7784035809652129599_o
Hyde Park
17622043_10210638120523513_1508627764580029854_o
Customs House Library
IMG_2685
St. Mary’s Cathedral
IMG_2682
Lighting a Candle for gratitude

There’s much to blog about but the first day was truly magical. (lol) I cannot think of a better word to describe how I felt. It was a big deal for someone like me and no matter how little the blessings are, I will always count it and make it a big deal and probably blog about it. This is just my first day of the Australian Adventure so I will be unapologetic about blogging about it more in the coming days. Blogging this and looking back to the events that transpired, brings a BIG SMILE to my stressed out self these days good thing I am able to have finally started this! 😛

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Joy Generoso says:

    After the Multiply days, I’m now following you again. Once the travel bug hits you, there’s no cure for it. Travel on, Cliffy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cliff Borlasa says:

      Hi! Thanks for the comment Joy! I do love to travel now hehehe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

