Sydney Day 6: Taronga Zoo

IMG_3840
Entrance For OTC Visitors

Taronga Zoo was next on my list right after SEA Life Sydney Aquarium. I have asked my friends for recommendations and yes they have recommended Taronga. I was also convinced to visit this zoo in particular mainly because of the ferry boat going there and the wildlife atmosphere of the zoo itself!

As usual the most exciting part of my day is the train ride from Westmead to Circular Quay. Somehow with all the available tools online, one can already estimate their schedule and by this time I was already familiar of the place and can pretty much imagine already where to eat by the time I’ll get hungry. Upon arrival at Circular Quay,  check out the schedule of the ferry going to Taronga Zoo. Make sure you are in the right wharf (I can no longer recall the Wharf No. but upon checking online one blogger said Wharf No. 4)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was 30 minutes early of the schedule so I took breakfast at Macca’s (that’s the affectionate Australian nickname for McDonald’s)! I ate some breakfast bun and a large hot choco for the cold weather. Breakfast would cost one about $12 AUD.

IMG_3829
Looking Groggy W/ My Hot Choco

Because I was not able to purchase my ticket online, upon arrival at Taronga Zoo I boarded another bus to the main entrance. For visitors of Taronga Zoo who are able to purchase tickets online, they can enter the zoo in style by boarding the Zoo’s cable car.  Those who entered the zoo through the main entrance can still board the cable car for free, it comes with the ticket.

Here are a couple of pictures I took of the wildlife found at Taronga Zoo:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was in awe of the animals that I have not taken as many pictures as I can. I was in particular amazed with the chimpanzees and gorillas. Of course the highlight of my trip would have to be the cable car ride. It was my first cable car ride!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Things to remember:

  • Never forget to load in your OPAL card
  • Free MAP is available at the entrance, you can download the app as well.
  • Depends on which is more convenient, buying ticket online can make you save more!
  • In my case, taking an umbrella with you might be wise in changing weather conditions.
Leave a Reply

